Oak Lodge School, Barnet: Middle School Introduction

Middle School: Key Stage 3

Curriculum Outline

The Middle School Department works closely with feeder primary schools and families, observing prospective students in their educational setting and taking account of available information to assign each new student to the most suitable class. Classes are not grouped according to age. There are no Year 7, Year 8 or Year 9 classes. The department is organised into classes of mixed Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9 students, grouped according to their primary area of learning need and their cognitive ability. Each class is assigned a class teacher supported by two or more teaching assistants.

Students study a modified national curriculum at a level appropriate to their cognitive development. Their class teacher will teach most subjects of the curriculum, but students will also work with specialist teachers for subjects such as Art, Music and PE. Students will also access support from NHS therapists for physiotherapy, occupational therapy and speech and language therapy where this is indicated by Education, Health & Care Plan (EHCP). Therapists provide training, advice and strategies to staff to create an integrated approach to therapies as much as possible so that students can get the most out of any programmes or recommendations. Additionally, students may be referred to Art therapy to support their mental wellbeing – this is always done in close consultation with their families but if you would like more information on this please contact the school. For further information about our learning offer, please see our Curriculum Outline

Oak Lodge Signage
Cookie Information